Home » NEWS » County designated StormReady

County designated StormReady

ADAMS COUNTY — Adams County is the latest community to receive the StormReady designation from the National Weather Service. Mississippi now has 28 StormReady designations including 14 communities, 11 counties and the University of Southern Mississippi and University of Mississippi.

StormReady is a nationwide program of the weather service that helps communities protect their citizens during severe weather and encourages communities to take a proactive approach to improving local hazardous weather operations.

To be recognized as StormReady, a community must: establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center; have multiple ways to receive severe weather warnings and forecasts and to alert the public; create a system that monitors weather conditions locally; promote the importance of public readiness through community seminars; and, develop a formal hazardous weather plan, which includes training severe weather spotters and holding emergency exercises.

Being recognized as a StormReady community shows the great progress we have made to better protect and inform our citizens of weather risks,” said Adams County Emergency Management director Stan Owens. “The entire community should be proud of this achievement.”

To learn more about the StormReady program visit www.stormready.noaa.gov.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Wally Northway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *