Home » Newsmakers » MSBA honors Davis, elects officers and directors

MSBA honors Davis, elects officers and directors

The Mississippi School Boards Association’s (MSBA’s)  inaugural Board Member of the Year Award was presented Nov. 17 to Laura Davis of Carroll County, a member of her local board for more than 30 years. The presentation was made during the Lighthouse School Leader Awards Luncheon, held in conjunction with the MSBA Fall Leadership Conference in Jackson.

Davis, a retired educator, was nominated for the honor by a fellow board member. Nineteen nominations of board members from across the state were submitted to MSBA for consideration in the awards program. A selection committee made up of board members from each of the congressional districts examined the documentation for each nominee and concluded that Davis was the honoree for the inaugural presentation of the Board Member of the Year.

In a separate item, South Panola School District board president Lygunnah Bean has been elected the new president of the MSBA. Bean, employed as the Panola County road manager, was elected Nov. 17 by the Delegates Assembly.

The Delegates Assembly also elected Dr. Norris Edney, Natchez-Adams School District board president, as MSBA vice president and Marian Barksdale, a member of the Oxford School District board of trustees, as secretary-treasurer. Jackson County School District board president Kenneth Fountain will remain on the MSBA board of directors as immediate past president.

At the Delegates Assembly, school board members also elected the following local school board members to serve on the statewide MSBA board of directors for two-year terms: (Congressional District 1) David Duncan, South Tippah School District; Tommy Prude, Columbus School District; Stephen Dodd, DeSoto School District; (Congressional District 3) Barbara Jones, Lauderdale County School District; Sondra Odom, Pearl School District; and, Etta Taplin, North Pike School District.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *