Home » NEWS » Banking & Finance » SBA seeking award nominees

SBA seeking award nominees

JACKSON — The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is seeking nominations for the 2010 Mississippi Small Business Person of the Year and Small Business Champion awards.

Each year since 1963, the President of the United States has designated a National Small Business Week. The highlight of Small Business Week activities is the presentation of awards at the state and national levels. The 2010 Small Business Week celebration next year will honor the small business community’s many contributions to the American economy and society. National Small Business Week will be observed May 23–29, 2010.

The 2010 Mississippi Small Business Person of the Year will attend the national celebration in Washington, D.C., to compete for the National Small Business Person of the Year award. At this celebration, a national winner is selected from all the winners from across the country.

Small Business Champions of the Year award categories are for those who promote small business, including volunteering time and services to small business interests and groups. Champions may or may not be small business owners. Award categories include: Minority Small Business Champion; Veteran Small Business Champion; Financial Services Champion; Home-Based Business Champion; Women in Business Champion; Small Business Exporter of the Year; Jeffrey Butland Award for Family-Owned Small Business of the Year; Young Entrepreneur of the Year; and, Entrepreneurial Success.

Nomination packages must be received at the Mississippi District Office on or before Nov. 13, 2009. Nomination guidelines and other information may be found on the SBA Mississippi website at www.sba.gov/ms under “Spotlight.”

About Wally Northway

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *