Home » NEWS » MSU faculty honored by aquaculture industry

MSU faculty honored by aquaculture industry

Longtime Mississippi State University (MSU) faculty members Louis R. D’Abramo of Starkville and James A. “Jim” Steeby of Inverness are being honored by the U.S. Aquaculture Society.  D’Abramo is dean of the university’s Graduate School, associate vice president for academic affairs and professor of wildlife, fisheries and aquaculture. Steeby is associate extension professor and extension aquaculture specialist at the Stoneville-based Delta Branch Experiment Station’s Thad Cochran National Warmwater Aquaculture Center.

D’Abramo received the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award, the organization’s highest honor. An MSU faculty member since 1984, the Yale University doctoral graduate earlier received the highest award of the World Aquaculture Society, as well as major recognitions from the U.S. Freshwater Prawn and Shrimp Growers associations.

An MSU doctoral graduate, Steeby was recognized with the 2010 Distinguished Service Award for his work with producers to decrease fish production costs and increase farm safety.  He joined the Delta Branch in 1982.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *