Home » Newsmakers » Cochran to receive ASA’s highest award

Cochran to receive ASA’s highest award

Thad Cochran

Thad Cochran

The American Shipbuilding Association (ASA) announced that Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) would be the 2010 recipient of the Herbert H. Bateman Award.

The Herbert H. Bateman Award was established by the ASA in 2000. This award is the industry’s highest recognition of an individual in the executive branch, legislative branch, or industry who has demonstrated years of consistent, outstanding and inspirational leadership in fighting for a stronger shipbuilding industry. Congressman Herb Bateman of Virginia, the award’s namesake, demonstrated these qualities throughout his tenure in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1981-2000.

Previous recipients of the Herbert H. Bateman award include Rep. Gene Taylor (D-Miss.) and former Sen. Trent Lott (R-Miss.).

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *