Home » Newsmakers » Asper, Drummond named CMR officers

Asper, Drummond named CMR officers

The Mississippi Commission on Marine Resources (CMR) has selected Dr. Vernon Asper of Hancock County as chairman, and Shelby Drummond of Jackson County as vice chairman. Asper serves on the CMR as non-profit environmental organization representative, and Drummond represents recreational sports fishermen.

Asper is a professor in the Department of Marine Science at the University of Southern Mississippi. He holds a Ph.D. in marine geology and geophysics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, a master’s degree in oceanography from the University of Hawaii and a bachelor’s degree in biology and chemistry from Messiah College in Grantham, Pa.

Drummond retired from the National Marine Fisheries Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and U.S. Department of Commerce with 40 years of service. He served on the Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council’s Special Groundfish Scientific and Statistical Committee for 16 years and has published numerous scientific papers during his career. He also worked as Vessel Coordinator for the Southeast Fisheries Science Center as liaison between NOAA Marine and Aviation Operations and the National Marine Fisheries Service.

About MBJ Staff

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *