Home » NEWS » Agribusiness » USDA declares two counties disaster areas

USDA declares two counties disaster areas

DESOTO COUNTY and MARSHALL COUNTY — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated counties in Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Virginia and North Carolina as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought and excessive heat that began June 1, 2010, and continues.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack “these conditions caused severe damage to corn, cotton, sorghum, soybeans, tobacco, wheat, forage crops, pasture, vegetable crops and fruit crops, and we want to help. This action will provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses.”

The counties in Mississippi included in the declaration are DeSoto and Marshall.

About Wally Northway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *