Home » NEWS » Delta county latest to be named StormReady

Delta county latest to be named StormReady

BOLIVAR COUNTY — Bolivar County has become the latest Mississippi county to receive the StormReady designation from the National Weather Service.

Mississippi Emergency Management Agency director Mike Womack says 15 cities or towns, 17 counties and two state universities and one government site in Mississippi have been given that designation.

StormReady is a nationwide program of the weather service that helps communities protect their citizens during severe weather and encourages communities to take a proactive approach to improving local hazardous weather operations.

Communities are recognized for having a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center, a system that monitors weather conditions locally and a formal hazardous weather plan, which includes training severe weather spotters and holding emergency exercises.

Source: The Associated Press

About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *