Home » NEWS » Disaster Unemployment Assistance available for storm victims

Disaster Unemployment Assistance available for storm victims

ACROSS MISSISSIPPI — The Mississippi Department of Employment Security is now accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance from those living or working in counties that received a federal disaster declaration because of damages from tornadoes and straight-line winds that occurred in April.

President Barack Obama this week declared an additional 18 Mississippi counties eligible for individual assistance, opening the door to affected workers to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance. As of May 10, this declaration was amended to include Alcorn, Attala, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Grenada, Holmes, Leflore, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica and Winston counties.

Affected workers included in this declaration have until June 10 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

On May 2, MDES announced Disaster Unemployment Assistance was available in Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Greene, Hinds, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Monroe, Neshoba and Webster. Workers in these counties have until June 1 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Workers who do not qualify for the state’s regular Unemployment Insurance program may qualify for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. This includes workers who: are unemployed as a direct result of the disaster; are self-employed; cannot work or perform jobs because of disaster-related injuries; are unable to reach their workplaces or job sites because of the disaster; were to have started work, but are unable to get to or perform their jobs; and/or became the breadwinner or major support of a household because the head of household died as a result of the disaster.

Source: MDES


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About For the MBJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *