Home » Newsmakers » Architects named to board

Architects named to board

David Hardy

Gov. Haley Barbour has appointed two members to the Mississippi State Board of Architecture, David J. Hardy of Gulfport, and Michael Boerner of Jackson. Hardy, AIA, was appointed for a term to expire May 31, 2016. A Mississippi Gulf Coast native, Hardy is the COO for Eley Guild Hardy Architects.

Hardy received his architecture degree from Mississippi State University in 1990 and began his career with Guild and Grace Architects in 1992, ultimately forming Guild Hardy Architects in 1995. In 2007, the firm merged with Eley Associates of Jackson to create Eley Guild Hardy Architects.

Hardy’s past service to his community and profession include serving as president of AIA Mississippi, president of Rotary Club of Biloxi and president of Biloxi Main Street.

Michael Boerner

Boerner, AIA, LEED, AP, will complete the term left vacant by the death of former member Michael Barranco. Boerner’s term will expire May 31, 2013.

Originally from Brookhaven, Boerner is a principal at Wier+Boerner in Jackson. He holds a bachelor of architecture from Mississippi State University as well as a bachelor of science in business administration and a minor in art from Millsaps College.

He is believed to be the youngest member in the board’s history.

Boerner has architectural experience working for firms in Dallas, Birmingham, New Orleans and Jackson.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *