Home » NEWS » Counties eligible for federal post-flood aid

Counties eligible for federal post-flood aid

WEST MISSISSIPPI — Thirteen counties affected by historic flooding along the Mississippi and Yazoo rivers this spring are now eligible for all categories of public assistance reimbursement from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

“This declaration gets the much needed financial help to our local governments,” Gov. Haley Barbour said. “Now they can rebuild and recover what was lost in this devastating flooding event.”

Public Assistance provides state and local governments and some private nonprofit agencies reimbursement grants of 75 percent of the eligible costs for the following: debris removal, emergency protective measures, repairs to roads and bridges, repair of public-owned buildings, water control facilities, public-utility systems, parks and recreational facilities.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo.

“We have been anticipating this assistance from FEMA and have already begun the process of working with local governments to prepare them for rebuilding their communities with the help of the Public Assistance Program,” said Mississippi Emergency Management Agency director Mike Womack. “This type of coordinated preparation will ensure the areas hit hard by the floods can rebuild and repair quickly.”

Source: Governor’s Office


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *