Home » NEWS » Agribusiness » USDA assistance available to flood victims

USDA assistance available to flood victims

ACROSS MISSISSIPPI — Several Mississippi counties that reported agricultural losses will be eligible for federal assistance in the aftermath of the Mississippi River flood.

“I appreciate the work by USDA to provide assistance to our farmers, who were impacted by the Mississippi River flood,” Gov. Haley Barbour said.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture reviewed damage assessments from counties in the flooded area. Farmers in the following areas will be able to access emergency loans and other assistance programs through their local USDA Farm Service Agency office.

The USDA issued a natural disaster declaration for Adams, Claiborne, Desoto, Humphries, Jefferson, Quitman, Warren, Wilkinson and Yazoo counties.

The USDA issued a contiguous disaster declaration for Amite, Attala, Coahoma, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Leflore, Lincoln, Madison, Marshall, Panola, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica and Washington counties.

Counties eligible for Farm Service Agency loan assistance include Coahoma, Holmes, Panola, Sharkey, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica and Washington counties.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>