Home » Newsmakers » Allen named dean

Allen named dean

The University of Mississippi has selected Kentucky native David D. Allen as the new dean of its School of Pharmacy after a national search to replace Barbara G. Wells, who retires Dec. 31. Allen, 49, is founding dean of pharmacy and professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the College of Pharmacy at Northeast Ohio Medical University and professor of physiology and pharmacology in NEOMED’s College of Medicine.

Allen’s UM appointment begins Jan. 1, pending approval by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning. He also will serve as executive director of the university’s Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences and professor of pharmacology.

As founding dean at NEOMED, Allen built its pharmacy program from nothing to 53 faculty members, 16 staff members and 274 students in five years (2006-2011). He also was the first faculty member hired in 1996 by the new School of Pharmacy at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Amarillo. There, he rose through the ranks to associate dean for curricular affairs, before becoming dean in Ohio.

Allen earned his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy at the University of Kentucky, then practiced pharmacy for several years before returning to UK to earn his Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences. He has been licensed to practice pharmacy in five states and has been a visiting scientist in Chile, France and Switzerland, as well as at the Laboratory of Neurosciences’ Neurochemistry and Brain Transport Section of the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Aging, where he also was an Intramural Research Training Award Fellow for two years.

He has served as principal investigator or collaborator on 30 research projects funded by the NIH, American Heart Association, the government of Chile and pharmaceutical companies. He also is the author 71 peer-reviewed articles and 41 professional publications and has contributed to four books.

He is on the editorial boards of Pharmacology Weekly and Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, and previously served on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and Life Sciences.

Besides receiving dozens of leadership, teaching, research and practice awards, he was designated a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association in 2011 and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 2004. He is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s Council of Deans and chaired its Costs of Experiential Education Task Force. He also chaired AACP’s Biological Sciences Section and Student Services Special Interest Group.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *