Home » Newsmakers » Barbour presents awards

Barbour presents awards

Gov. Haley Barbour recently presented the Mississippi Medal of Service to 11 individuals who have made significant contributions to the state through their personal and professional lives.

Honorees included: U.S. Sen. Thad Cochran; Mississippi House Speaker Billy McCoy; former Mississippi Court of Appeals Justice Mary Libby Payne; former Mississippi Supreme Court Justices Reuben Anderson and Ed Pittman; University of Southern Mississippi president emeritus Dr. Aubrey Lucas; former University of Mississippi Chancellor Robert Khayat of Oxford; former Mississippi Board of Education member Lucimarian Roberts of Pass Christian; Jackson businessmen Jim Barksdale and Cornelius Turner; and, blues legend B.B. King.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *