Home » Newsmakers » PRCC welcomes new board

PRCC welcomes new board



Four new members have joined the Pearl River Community College board of trustees. They are superintendents Brian Freeman of Forrest County, Alan Lumpkin of Pearl River County, Craig Robbins of Marion County and public school teacher Teresa Stafford.

Freeman, Lumpkin and Robbins serve on the board as part of their duties as elected county school superintendents. Stafford was appointed to represent Pearl River County.

Stafford, who lives in Carriere, teaches first grade and is teacher-in-charge at Southside Lower Elementary School in Picayune. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Southern Mississippi and an administrative degree from William Carey University. She began her career in education as a teacher’s assistant.



Freeman lives in Hattiesburg and holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from USM in coaching and administration. After teaching for three years at Columbia Academy, he joined the Forrest County schools as a teacher and has served as an assistant principal, principal and assistant superintendent.

Lumpkin has spent 15 years in education as a teacher, coach and administrator and holds the bachelor’s degree from USM and the master’s degree from Jones International University. He lives in McNeill.

Robbins served 12 years as superintendent and on the PRCC board but lost the 2007 election. He was re-elected in November. He holds the bachelor’s degree from Mississippi State University, the master’s degree from USM and the specialist’s degree from William Carey University.

During his 37 years in education, Robbins served as a teacher, coach, principal and superintendent, including a six-year stretch as superintendent of Columbia Training School. He lives in Foxworth.

Frank Ladner of Hancock County is board chairman. H.R. Nobles of Forrest County is vice chairman and Sonny Knight of Pearl River County is secretary. Ladner was recently reappointed to the board by the Hancock County Board of Supervisors.

Two members left the Pearl River Community College board in December — Dr. Kay Clay of Forrest County and Ronald Fortenberry of Marion County.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *