Home » NEWS » Gunn names chairs of House committees, some Dems included

Gunn names chairs of House committees, some Dems included

JACKSON — Mississippi House Speaker Philip Gunn has named chairs for the House’s 40-plus committees, allowing the House to move ahead with business

With the GOP takeover of the House, Republicans were named to head all of the House’s major committees. Unlike four years ago, though, when Speaker Billy McCoy froze out GOP members from chairmanships after they failed to depose him, Republican Gunn of Clinton did name some Democrats.

New committee leaders include:

—Appropriations, Herb Frierson, R-Poplarville

—Judiciary A, Rep. Mark Baker, R-Brandon

—Judiciary B, Andy Gipson, R-Braxton

—Education, John Moore, R-Brandon

—Ways and Means, Jeff Smith, R-Columbus

The Legislature is 18 days into a 120-day session. The Rules and Management committees had been organized earlier.

About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>