Home » NEWS » Education » Senate passes bill to consolidate Delta county schools

Senate passes bill to consolidate Delta county schools

SUNFLOWER COUNTY — Legislation to consolidate administrations of three Sunflower County school districts passed the Mississippi Senate yesterday. The measure is the first item from Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves’ legislative agenda to be considered by the Senate.

Senate Bill 2330 combines the administrations of Drew, Sunflower and Indianola school districts, which are currently under conservatorship at the state Department of Education, and requires an appointed superintendent to lead the new district. The bill heads to the Mississippi House for consideration.

“By combining these failing school districts into one, we can give students in Sunflower County an opportunity for a better education,” Reeves said. “By eliminating duplicative functions, this new school district could be able to spend more than $1 million more on classroom needs.”

About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *