Home » Newsmakers » USM honors James Turner

USM honors James Turner

Dr. James M. Turner, dean of the William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine, was the recipient of the Alton B. Cobb Outstanding Master of Public Health Award at the University of Southern Mississippi’s annual College of Health Awards Night at the Thad Cochran Center. Dr. Michael Forster, dean of the College of Health at USM, and Dr. Ray Newman, chair of the Department of Community Health Sciences at USM, presented the award to Turner, who is currently a student in the master of health program at USM. Turner graduated from Nova Southeastern College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1988. He received his fellow from the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians in 1998 and the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Medicine in 2008. He completed his residency in emergency medicine from Mount Sinai Medical Center in Miami, Fla., and completed his bachelor of science degree at Georgia Southwestern College in Americus, Ga. Turner has worked as an Osteopathic Family Physician and Emergency Physician in Tennessee, Florida, South Carolina and West Virginia. He currently serves on the board of directors for the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Medicine. He is also an inspector for the American Osteopathic Association for medical colleges and emergency medicine residencies, and serves on numerous committees of the osteopathic medical profession. Turner relocated to Hattiesburg from Charleston, W.V., where he worked in post- graduate education and developed an emergency medicine residency program. He has worked for the WCUCOM since 2011.

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *