Home » NEWS » CVB board members reappointed after shake-up

CVB board members reappointed after shake-up

CORINTH — The Board of Mayor and Aldermen has filled several seats on boards and commissions.

The Daily Corinthian reported Clayton Stanley will fill an unexpired post on the airport commission following the resignation of Allen Lee. The term runs through April 20, 2015.

Reappointments included Emma Lee Newcomb on the Corinth Housing Authority board and Wayne Gann on the board of Magnolia Regional Health Center. Both are five-year appointments.

The board also reappointed Pauline Sorrell and Billy Taylor to the board of the Corinth Area Convention and Visitors Bureau. The two positions are jointly appointed with the Alcorn County Board of Supervisors. The appointments await consideration by the county.

Sorrell and Taylor were appointed in January after a shake-up on the tourism board.

The board still must fill an unexpired term on the Corinth Public Utilities Commission. The vacancy was created by the resignation of Joey Luster.

Also, additional appointments must be made to the Corinth Preservation Commission for seats currently held by Claire Stanley, Marvin McQueen, Jimbo Bryant, Anne Thompson and Joe Carroll.

City Clerk Vickie Roach said the commission wants to present information at the next board meeting before the appointments are made.

The board also has delayed action on the Planning Commission/Board of Adjustment seat currently held by James W. Orr, whose term expires Oct. 15.

About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *