Home » NEWS » One House seat won; two others await runoff election

One House seat won; two others await runoff election

elections-usa-2008ACROSS MISSISSIPPI — One Mississippi House seat was decided in yesterday’s special elections, but two more seats will await a runoff.

Oscar Denton, who worked 39 years for AT&T, won yesterday’s special election in House District 55.

Complete, but unofficial returns, show Denton received 55 percent of the vote to defeat four other candidates for the post formerly held BY Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs Jr.

House District 55 includes most of Vicksburg in Warren County.

Others on the ballot were Marie Thompson, Andrew W. Harrell, Joseph E. Williams and Christopher Green.

A runoff will decide who will serve the remainder of the term from House District 5 in north Mississippi.

Complete, but unofficial, returns show former Holly Springs Mayor Andre R. DeBerry and John Gary Faulkner will be in the Nov. 26 runoff.

District 5 covers most of Marshall County and part of Benton County.

The Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal reports DeBerry lost the mayor’s office to state Rep. Kelvin Buck, whose resignation prompted the special election.

Others on yesterday’s ballot were Daylon Cannon, Arthur “Clyde” Ellzey, Lee Edward Gill, Jacqueline Simon and Robert Earl Young.

Political newcomer Jeramey Anderson, a 21-year-old college student, and former Moss Point mayor Aneice Liddell have advanced to a Nov. 26 runoff election for Mississippi House District 110.

The winner will complete the term of state Rep. Billy Broomfield, who was elected mayor of Moss Point in June.

District 110 is located wholly in Jackson County.

Others on the ballot were Mitch Ellerby, Tyres Autrey and Anne McMillion.

The Mississippi Press reports that Anderson is a student at Tulane. Liddell is a businesswoman who was a Moss Point alderman before becoming the city’s first female mayor.


About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *