Home » NEWS » MDOT: Beware of icy roads in 20 counties

MDOT: Beware of icy roads in 20 counties

The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) has issued a road update as another round of winter weather impacts the state.

MDOT reports ice has been detected on roads and bridges in 20 counties.

The affected counties are Tallahatchie, Montgomery, Holmes, Carroll, Leflore, Claiborne, Prentiss, Benton, Marshall, Newton, DeSoto, Chickasaw, Quitman, Coahoma, Tate, Panola, Warren, Jefferson, Tunica and Lee.

All lanes of I-20 at the Mississippi River Bridge in Vicksburg, Highway 28 at Union Church Road in Jefferson County and Highway 61 at Old Highway 61 in Washington County are closed.

The public is encouraged to limit travel only in case of emergency in the areas mentioned above.

About Wally Northway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *