Home » NEWS » Education » Comcast awarding scholarships to 14 Mississippi students

Comcast awarding scholarships to 14 Mississippi students

comcast logoComcast will present 14 scholarships to Mississippi students Saturday as part of its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program at the Soul City Showcase at the Jackson Convention Complex, 105 E. Pascagoula St.

Receiving awards at the 4:30 p.m. ceremony are Kierra Hawkins of Jackson, Shanice Dowdy of Red Bank, Cory Snow of Southaven, Quamia Glover of Jackson, Alexis Ester of Coldwater, Shundreia Wilson of Sardis, Cayla Hari of Southaven, Jordan Hutton of Brandon, Courtney Crockett of Pelahatchie, Lacey Harpe of Brandon, Brianna Starnes of Olive Branch, Olivia Dear of Madison, Savannah Smith of Corinth and Daniel Mendoza of Hattiesburg.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students.

According to a Comcast news release, the philosophy behind the program is to give young people opportunities to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

“I applaud the scholarship recipients and commend their hard work, dedication, and selflessness to their communities,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann in the release.  “It is important we recognize their efforts, and the efforts of Comcast for highlighting these students’ achievements.”

Since the scholarship program’s inception, there have been over 19,000 scholarship winners totaling more than $19 million.

About Frank Brown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *