Home » MBJ FEATURE » John Kelly, Richard Morrison appointed to Mississippi Board of Education

John Kelly, Richard Morrison appointed to Mississippi Board of Education

The Mississippi Board of Education has appointed Dr. John R. Kelly to serve as board chairman for a two-year term. Kelly, who since 2007 has served as Gulfport’s chief administrative officer, previously served as the board’s vice chair. Former Gov. Haley Barbour appointed Kelly to the Board of Education in 2011.

A Utica native, Kelly previously served as Gulfport’s municipal court administrator and has worked as regional director for community and family support with Navy Region Southeast in Jacksonville, Florida. He has held several positions at the Mississippi Cooperative Extension Service at Mississippi State University and was an adjunct professor for 24 years at the University of Southern Mississippi’s Gulf Park campus. Kelly has served as chairman of the national board of directors for the American Cancer Society and was president and chief volunteer officer for the United Way of South Mississippi. He also has served as president of the Gulfport Job Corps Center and chairman of the board of trustees for the Gulf Coast Medical Center.

Kelly received a bachelor’s degree from Alcorn State University, a master’s degree from Wayne State University in Detroit and a doctorate from the University of Southern Mississippi.

The board named as its vice chair Richard Morrison, who is assistant superintendent of the Rankin County School District. Gov. Phil Bryant appointed Morrison to the board in 2012. Morrison began his career as a math teacher and coach at Forest Hill High School and Quitman High School. He has been an administrator in Rankin County for 18 years, including serving as principal of Northwest Rankin High School before being appointed district assistant superintendent.

Morrison’s recognitions include Rankin County Administrator of the Year, Mississippi Principal of the Year, Administrator of the Year for Mississippi’s 3rd Congressional District, Mississippi Administrator of the Year and Mississippi Thespian Principal of the Year. He has been a member of both the National Association of Secondary School Principals and the Mississippi Association of Secondary School Principals.

Morrison is a graduate of Delta State University and earned a master’s degree in educational leadership from Mississippi College.

Outgoing board chairman Dr. Wayne Gann will continue to serve on the board as a member through July 2015.



… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *