Home » MBJ FEATURE » American Physiological Society appointee has UMMC ties

American Physiological Society appointee has UMMC ties

Dr. Jane Reckelhoff

Dr. Jane Reckelhoff

The next shift in leadership at the American Physiological Society will see another University of Mississippi Medical Center scientist preparing to take the helm of the organization.

As of April 1, Dr. Jane Reckelhoff will become the ninth person who trained or worked at UMMC to serve as president-elect of the society, a factor she said is largely due to her department’s encouragement of junior faculty members or trainees to get involved with this prestigious organization.

Reckelhoff, a professor of physiology and biophysics, previously served on the APS Council for three years and headed one of the organization’s sections. In her new duties, she will help shape how the group continues its long-term goals.

Reckelhoff follows in the footsteps of the late Dr. Arthur C. Guyton, APS president in 1974-75, who was the first chair of the UMMC physiology department and one of the world’s most preeminent cardiovascular physiologists.

Other  APS presidents with UMMC ties are Dr. Aubrey Taylor (1988), Dr. Vernon Bishop (1989), Dr. Allen Cowley (1997), Dr. L. Gabriel Navar (1998), Dr. John Hall (2001), Dr. Neil Granger (2004), Dr. Joey Granger (2010-11)

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *