Home » NEWS » Education » USM College of Business Presents Student Awards

USM College of Business Presents Student Awards

Students in The University of Southern Mississippi’s College of Business were recently recognized for outstanding academic achievement during the fall 2017 honors program held Friday, Nov. 17 on the Hattiesburg campus. Honorees (with hometowns):

School of Accountancy
Outstanding Accounting Student – Hattiesburg campus: Sheri Lowery, Sumrall.
Outstanding Accounting Student – Gulf Park campus: Moises Espinal, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Department of Finance, Real Estate and Business Law
Finance Faculty Award: Cody Childs, Yazoo City.
Outstanding Finance Student Award, Picasso Nelson Jr., Hattiesburg.

Department of Management and International Business
Outstanding Entrepreneurship Student Award: Lachelle Holmes, Tylertown.
Outstanding Business Administration Student Award: Tyler Murry, Indianola.
Outstanding Student in Management Award: Michael Smith, Panama City, Fla.

School of Marketing
Spirit of Marketing Award: Randa Amason, Pearl.
Outstanding Student in Sales Award: Nia Edwards, Ocean Springs.
Special Recognition in Healthcare Marketing Award: Morgan Musgrove.
Outstanding Student in Healthcare Marketing Award: Justin McCool, Magee.
Outstanding Senior in Merchandising Award: Madison Silva, New Orleans.

Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Sport Management
Spirit of Hospitality Award: Tyler Lee, Hattiesburg.
Outstanding Hospitality and Tourism Award: Alex Davis.
Leadership in Sport Management Award: Kevin Holland, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Outstanding Sport Management Award: Dylan Burdeaux, West Monroe, La.

Graduate Student Awards
Outstanding Student in Business Foundations Certificate: Lindsey Philpot.
Outstanding MBA Graduates: Alexis Tymkiw and Mallory James
Outstanding Graduate Student in Professional Accountancy: Maria Saylor, Biloxi.
Outstanding Master of Science in Economic Development: Matthew Harrison.
Outstanding Master of Science in Sport Management Award: Ray Durr
Graduate Sport Management Leadership Award: Dennis Hilton, Biloxi.

College-wide Awards
Academic Achievement Award: Amy Ligon, Gulfport.
College of Business Leadership Award: Benjamin Smith, Tylertown.
Spirit of Business Award: Picasso Nelson Jr., Hattiesburg.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *