Home » NEWS » Govt/Politics » 5 in special election to succeed Gipson in Mississippi House

5 in special election to succeed Gipson in Mississippi House

Five candidates are competing in a special election to fill a seat in the Mississippi House.

Polls are open until 7 p.m. Tuesday in District 77 in parts of Rankin and Simpson counties. If a runoff is needed, it will be July 31.

The winner will serve until January 2020, finishing a term started by Republican Andy Gipson of Braxton. He had been in the House since 2008 and left in April when Republican Gov. Phil Bryant appointed him state agriculture commissioner.

Those in the House race are Cliff Brown, Hayes Patrick, Christopher R. “Chris” Purdum, Cemper Scott and Price Wallace

Candidates run without party labels in Mississippi special elections, although many tell voters their party affiliation.

Republicans hold a three-fifths majority in the state House.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Associated Press

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *