Educators grab White House’s attention

Gov. Haley Barbour announces that elementary school teachers Amy Ellis of the Starkville School District and Jeanette Simmons of the Pontotoc County School District have been selected to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Jerzy R. Leszczynski from Jackson State University also received this award for his assistance as a mentor.

The program acknowledges individuals and organizations that help students learn about mathematics and science. The recipients will receive awards at the White House ceremony in the fall along with $10,000 from the National Science Foundation to advance mentoring efforts.

[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.




Twang & Tourism: The Country Music Trail

Our annual "Come See Us" magazine offers ideas for spots in Mississippi ranging from golf to culture to history to food. Click the photo for ideas, stories and access to the digital edition of this year's magazine.

Top Posts & Pages

%d bloggers like this: