Senators approve TVA board appointees


Published: March 8,2010

Tags: Congress, energy, TVA

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. — A U.S. Senate panel has approved President Barack Obama’s four appointees to the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) board, putting them in line for a confirmation vote by the full Senate.

The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee approved the nominees to the nine-member board March 4.

They are former TVA board chairman William B. Sansom of Knoxville, Georgia Tech professor Marilyn A. Brown, Barbara S. Haskew and Neil G. McBride.

Haskew has held various teaching and administrative jobs at Middle Tennessee State University.

McBride is a public interest lawyer in Oak Ridge.

TVA is the nation’s largest public utility, delivering electricity to about 9 million people in Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Kentucky, Georgia, North Carolina and Virginia.

[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.

One Response to “Senators approve TVA board appointees”

  1. Senators approve TVA board appointees (Mississippi Business Journal) | Chattanooga, Tennessee LocalSpur - News, Yellow Page Listings, Events and Local Tweets for Chattanooga, TN. Says:

    […] See the article here: Senators approve TVA board appointees (Mississippi Business Journal) […]



Top Posts & Pages