USDA declares two counties disaster areas


Published: February 17,2011

Tags: agriculture, disaster, federal government, Weather

DESOTO COUNTY and MARSHALL COUNTY — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated counties in Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Virginia and North Carolina as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought and excessive heat that began June 1, 2010, and continues.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack “these conditions caused severe damage to corn, cotton, sorghum, soybeans, tobacco, wheat, forage crops, pasture, vegetable crops and fruit crops, and we want to help. This action will provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses.”

The counties in Mississippi included in the declaration are DeSoto and Marshall.

[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.




Twang & Tourism: The Country Music Trail

Our annual "Come See Us" magazine offers ideas for spots in Mississippi ranging from golf to culture to history to food. Click the photo for ideas, stories and access to the digital edition of this year's magazine.

Top Posts & Pages

%d bloggers like this: