More counties eligible for assistance following April storms

ACROSS MISSISSIPPI — Gov. Haley Barbour announced that 36 counties affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes April 15-April 28 are now eligible for public assistance reimbursement through FEMA.

Public assistance provides a reimbursement grant of 75 percent of eligible costs for the following: debris removal, emergency protective measures and repairs to road systems, bridges, public-owned buildings, water control facilities, public-utility systems, parks and recreational facilities.

The counties included for public assistance grants include: Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, DeSoto, Greene, Hinds, Holmes, Itawamba, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Scott, Smith, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster and Winston.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency along with the Federal Emergency Management Agency will schedule applicant briefings to discuss the public assistance reimbursement process with local governments.

Source: Gov. Haley Barbour

[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.




Twang & Tourism: The Country Music Trail

Our annual "Come See Us" magazine offers ideas for spots in Mississippi ranging from golf to culture to history to food. Click the photo for ideas, stories and access to the digital edition of this year's magazine.

Top Posts & Pages

%d bloggers like this: