Archive for May, 2013

WILLOUGHBY: Mike Lorence helps lead by proving he is part of

As I talk with organizational leaders, one of the recurring themes I hear is the need to find great people for the team. Finding “A” players is something that most everyone wants, but few achieve. Brad Smart addresses this problem in his book, Topgrading, which has become a bestseller and “go to” manual for companies […] [...]

Carrie Sumrall named ‘Top Cop’

by Published: May 31,2013

Tags: Carrie Sumrall, government, State Auditor's Office

Carrie Sumrall, a special agent with the State Auditor’s Office, was a recipient of the “Top Cop” award, which is sponsored by the Mississippi Center for Police and Sheriffs. Sumrall is a resident of Biloxi, and has served the State Auditor’s Office since 2004. She has a bachelor’s degree in accounting and is a graduate […] [...]

Walter Chataginer retiring from state marine resources agency

Marine patrol chief Walter Chataginer has retired from the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources, taking with him more than 34 years of law enforcement experience. Chataginer started his career in September 1979 with the Biloxi Police Department. In 1988, he joined the Bureau of Marine Resources.   [...]

Institutions of Higher Learning taps John Pearce

by Published: May 31,2013

Tags: education, John Pearce, The Koerber Company

The board of trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning named veteran staff member John Pearce as interim associate commissioner for finance and administration. He has served as director of university budgets for the Institutions of Higher Learning since 2008. A certified public accountant, Pearce has extensive experience in providing budget oversight of Mississippi’s eight […] [...]

Ashley Hood named osteopathic association president

Dr. Ashley Hood, an OB/GYN, has been named the president of the Mississippi Osteopathic Medical Association (MOMA).  Hood, whose practice is located in the Suites of River Oaks Hospital, began his two-year term with the association at the end of May.   [...]

Kevin Williamson made Laurel Chronicle publisher

by Published: May 31,2013

Tags: Kevin Williamson, Laurel, The Chronicle

Kevin Williamson has been named publisher of The Chronicle newspaper in Laurel. Williamson succeeds Skippy Haik in June. Haik had served as interim publisher for The Chronicle since its inception in Jones County in April 2012. Haik will remain with The Chronicle as office manager/bookkeeper. Williamson has worked in print media nearly 17 years, including […] [...]

Ross & Yerger welcomes Seth Hedglin

by Published: May 31,2013

Tags: insurance, Ross & Yerger Insurance, Seth Hedglin

Seth Hedglin has joined the Ross & Yerger Insurance Inc. future partner group sales team. Hedglin, who graduated from the Mississippi State University with a bachelor’s degree in business administration, came to Ross & Yerger with a number of years as a successful sales representative with a couple of different national sales organizations. He is […] [...]

Jim Hudson joins Memorial Physician Clinics

by Published: May 31,2013

Tags: healthcare, Jim Hudson, Memorial Physician Clinics

Jim Hudson, MD, has joined Memorial Physician Clinics in the practice of orthopedic surgery. Hudson received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and attended medical school at University of Tennessee, Memphis. He completed his internship at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Memphis, and completed his residency in surgery at the University of Tennessee, […] [...]

Karen Johnson wins advertising award

Karen Johnson, vice president of print production at GodwinGroup, was recently honored with the Bolton-MacVicar Award by the District 7 American Advertising Federation (AAF). The award is presented annually to an advertising professional within the district who has dedicated special efforts to working with advertising students at area schools and universities. Johnson has been involved with AAF since […] [...]

Delta State University staff honored

by Published: May 31,2013

Tags: Delta State University, education, Polly Cameron

Delta State University has recognized staff members for their years of service to the university. Employees serving the university for five, 10 and 15 years received recognition for their dedication to Delta State. Recipients of the 15-year service award were Polly Cameron, Lizabeth Carlson, Leslie Griffin, Melissa Marshall, Christy Riddle, Rosetta Scott, Sammy Wilson, James […] [...]

Next Page »

Recent Posts


Should the IHL reconsider its position on firing Dan Jones as chancellor at the University of Mississippi?

View Results

The MBJ poll should not be considered a scientific one. Results reflect only the opinion of those who participate.

Loading ... Loading ...

Recent Comments