Asper resigns from CMR after 19 years of service

BILOXI — Dr. Vernon Asper is resigning after serving 19 years on the Commission on Marine Resources.

Jamie Miller, executive director of the Department of Marine Resources, said, “I would like to thank Dr. Asper for his 19 years of service with the Commission on Marine Resources. His leadership has been invaluable to the Commission and the Agency, and we will miss his hard work and dedication.”

Jimmy Taylor, who currently is vice chairman of the Commission, will take over as chairman.

Mississippi’s governor appoints the five-member Commission to four-year terms, with representatives from the charter boat, commercial fishing, recreational sports fishing and commercial seafood processing industries, as well as a member of an incorporated nonprofit environmental organization. The Senate must confirm the appointments.

Gov. Phil Bryant will appoint someone to take over for Asper, whose current term expires June 30, 2014.

According to state statute, no more than two members can be from any one coastal county. Currently, there are two members from Harrison County and two members from Jackson County and one from Hancock County.


[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.




Twang & Tourism: The Country Music Trail

Our annual "Come See Us" magazine offers ideas for spots in Mississippi ranging from golf to culture to history to food. Click the photo for ideas, stories and access to the digital edition of this year's magazine.

Top Posts & Pages

%d bloggers like this: