Candidates line up to take mayor’s place in state House

PASCAGOULA — Five candidates have qualified for the special election to fill Billy Broomfield’s House seat.

The Sun Herald reports the candidates include Aniece Liddell, who served one term as Moss Point mayor from 2009 until she was defeated by Broomfield in the Democratic primary earlier this year. Broomfield resigned in June, the day before he was sworn in as mayor.

Jeramey Anderson is a senior at Tulane University studying Homeland Security and public relations.

Tyres Autrey is a full-time caregiver for his grandmother in Pascagoula.

Mitch Ellerby is a former two-term state representative who is a driver for Hotard Coaches.

Anne’A McMilllian is a long-term substitute teacher in the Moss Point school district.

The election will be Nov. 5.

A runoff, if necessary, will be Nov. 26.

[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.



Top Posts & Pages