Special House election has crowded field

NORTH MISSISSIPPI — Seven people have filed qualifying papers to run for the Mississippi House District 5 post left vacant earlier this year when incumbent Kelvin Buck was elected mayor of Holly Springs.

The special election is set for Nov. 5. A runoff, if needed, will be Nov. 26.

The Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal reports that the candidates are Daylon Cannon, Andre’ De’Berry, Arthur “Clyde” Ellzey, John Gary Faulkner, Lee Edward Gill, Jacqueline Simon and Robert Earl Young.

Candidates in legislative special elections do not declare party affiliation.

The district covers most of Marshall and a portion of Benton counties.

The state Election Commission meets Thursday to certify the candidates.


Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal

[RSS Feed] [del.icio.us]

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.




Twang & Tourism: The Country Music Trail

Our annual "Come See Us" magazine offers ideas for spots in Mississippi ranging from golf to culture to history to food. Click the photo for ideas, stories and access to the digital edition of this year's magazine.

Top Posts & Pages

%d bloggers like this: