Five candidates qualify to run for Flaggs’ old House seat

WARREN COUNTY  — Five people have qualified to run in a special election to succeed Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs Jr. in the Mississippi House of Representatives.

The election is Nov. 5. A runoff, if needed, will be Nov. 26.

The Vicksburg Post reports that the candidates are Marie Thompson, Oscar Denton, Andrew W. Harrell, Joseph E. Williams and Christopher Green.

Flaggs retired from his seat June 30 and was sworn in as mayor the following day.

The winner will fill the 2½ years remaining on the term.

House District 55 covers nearly all of Vicksburg proper and northwest Warren County.

[RSS Feed] []

To sign up for Mississippi Business Daily Updates, click here.



Top Posts & Pages