Archive for the ‘Newsmakers’ Category

BankPlus announces a bevy of promotions, new-hires

by Published: September 24,2014

Tags: baking, BankPlus, Business, finance, Mississippi, Newsmakers

BankPlus has promoted Lindsay Akers Tomlinson to first vice president and director of analytics in the Marketing Department. Tomlinson has over 11 years of experience in the banking industry, and has been a part of the BankPlus team since 2008. A native of Tupelo, Mississippi, Tomlinson received her bachelor’s degree in computer science from Millsaps […] [...]

Jonathan Ambrose appointed associated dean of students at Mississippi College

by Published: September 24,2014

Tags: Business, education, Mississippi, NEWS, Newsmakers

Jonathan Ambrose has been appointed associate dean of students at Mississippi College. Ambrose completed a doctorate in urban higher education at Jackson State University. He also holds degrees from St. Peter’s College in New Jersey and the University of Louisiana-Monroe. Ambrose is a native of Amory. [...]

Jordan King joins audit division of Haddox Reid Eubank Betts

by Published: September 24,2014

Tags: accounting, Business, Mississippi, NEWS, Newsmakers

Jordan King recently joined the audit division of the CPA firm of Haddox Reid Eubank Betts, PLLC. He is a graduate of Mississippi College where he received his masters of business administration. [...]

Cornel Clement receives recognition from Associated General Contractors

by Published: September 24,2014

Tags: Business, contractors, Mississippi, Newsmakers

The Associated General Contractors of Mississippi has selected Cornel Clement of Dan Hensarling Inc. in Gulfport as the 2014 AGC Mississippi Outstanding Member of the Year. Clement has been active with the AGC of Mississippi for numerous years, and participates in all chapter activities. He has served on several committees, as chapter secretary treasurer, vice […] [...]

Mississippi State adds Cliff Covington and Steven Tucker

by Published: September 24,2014

Tags: agriculture, Business, Mississippi, Mississippi State University

Mississippi State University’s Center for Resolving Human-Wildlife Conflicts recently added two new staff members to address the growing challenge of controlling the state’s wild hog population. Mississippi State alumni Cliff Covington and Steven Tucker will coordinate and conduct educational workshops, field days and seminars with a primary focus on wild hog damage mitigation. Covington has […] [...]

Tate goes to USM-Gulf Park

Jenny Tate has been selected as the campus communication officer for the University of Southern Mississippi’s Gulf Park Campus. Tate, currently the chief of marketing and development for the Mississippi Museum of Art, replaces Shelia White. Tate holds a master of science in communication studies from the University of Southern Mississippi and a bachelor of […] [...]

Parrott chairing committee

Adams and Reese partner and Banking and Finance Team leader Charles Parrott has been appointed to serve as chairman of the Bank Attorneys’ Committee for the Mississippi Bankers Association, serving a one-year term expiring mid-year in 2015. Parrott has served as the Adams and Reese Banking and Finance Team leader since 2004, and he was […] [...]

Leadership class graduates

The Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce recently graduated 25 emerging community leaders from its 26th annual Leadership Lafayette Program at a graduation ceremony held at the Oxford Conference Center. The 2014 class includes: Maranda Anderson, FNB Oxford; Steven Ash, Newk’s Eatery; Allissa Barkett, Volt; Angela Barlow Brown, University of Mississippi; Joe Bishop, Oxford Police Department; […] [...]

Kopetz succeeds Brown

Barry E. Kopetz, an experienced Ohio conductor and educator, is the new head of Mississippi State University’s music department. Kopetz formerly was a music professor at Capital University in Bexley, Ohio, a suburb of Columbus. Prior to joining CU in 2001, he served for 10 years as a music professor at the University of Utah […] [...]

Alasdair Roe named new president/CEO of Healthcare Providers Insurance Company

by Published: September 9,2014

Tags: Business, healthcare, Mississippi, NEWS, Newsmakers

Healthcare Providers Insurance Company, RRG, (HPIC), sponsored by the Mississippi Hospital Association (MHA), has announced the appointment of Alasdair Roe to the position of president/chief executive officer of HPI Company (HPICO), which is the attorney-in-fact for HPIC, effective Sept. 1. Previously, he served as chief operating officer. Retiring President/CEO Larry Bourne will serve as president […] [...]

« Previous Page Next Page »

Recent Posts


How ready is your business for health care reform?

View Results

The MBJ poll should not be considered a scientific one. Results reflect only the opinion of those who participate.

Loading ... Loading ...

Recent Comments