Posts Tagged ‘Mississippi Main Street Association’

Davis wins scholarship

Rebecca Davis of Pascagoula was presented with the 2012 Charles O. Beasley Scholarship Award at the Mississippi Main Street Association’s (MMSA’s) 2011 Annual Awards Meeting and Luncheon held recently at the Old Capitol Inn in Jackson. This special award recognizes a Main Street Manager who has shown outstanding service to his or her community and […] [...]

Mississippi Main Street honors Pascagoula’s Davis

The work of Rebecca Davis in helping Pascagoula gain new life after the destruction of Katrina won her Mississippi Main Street Association’s Charles O. Beasley Scholarship Award, an annual honor that goes to a Main Street manager who has shown outstanding service to the community and program. Davis received the award at the Mississippi Main […] [...]

Miller helps build the Columbus downtown one person at a time

To those that know her, Jan Miller does not just meet people – she meets friends. Miller admits that she’s never met a stranger. “I guess I get my personality from my mother,” said Miller, a district director for Mississippi Main Street Association whose territory covers almost half the state. “She worked for the commissioner […] [...]

Howley elected to Main Street board

by Published: December 5,2010

Tags: Mickey Howley, Mississippi Main Street Association

Mickey Howley of Water Valley has been elected by fellow Main Street managers and members to the Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) board of directors. Howley will serve a two-year term as a managers’ representative to the statewide board. MMSA has traditionally designated two positions on the board for managers’ representatives. Howley replaces Kay Miller […] [...]

MMSA board officers, members set

The Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) recently held its annual meeting and awards luncheon in downtown Jackson. Among the agenda was the passing of the gavel to new MMSA board president Randy Burchfield of Tupelo. Burchfield will serve a two-year term (2010-2012), following Chuck Ueltschey of Gulfport, 2008-2010 board president. Burchfield serves as senior vice […] [...]

West Point, Woodville take Main Street honors

Lt. Gov. Phil Bryant is old enough to remember when Capitol Street in Jackson served as the state’s largest and most popular shopping destination. “How exciting that was for us,” Bryant said, recounting the shopping trips he and his brother would take with their mother to Downtown Jackson. While she shopped, Bryant said, he and […] [...]

Wilson lands MTA board seat

Bob Wilson, executive director of the Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA), has been elected to the board of directors for the Mississippi Tourism Association (MTA). Wilson will serve as vice president of tourism-related industry for the 2010-2011 year term. Wilson has more than 30 years of sales and marketing experience. He has been with MMSA […] [...]

Keeping Our Eye On: Jeannie Waller

Age: 27 Hometown: Jackson Education: B.A. English (Mississippi State University), M.A. journalism (University of Mississippi) Current Position: Director of communications, Mississippi Main Street Association Jeannie Waller, a seventh-generation Mississippian, has had a hat full of adventures in the Magnolia State since her first day at work – from being serenaded by Elvis in Tupelo to […] [...]

« Previous Page

Recent Posts


Should the IHL reconsider its position on firing Dan Jones as chancellor at the University of Mississippi?

View Results

The MBJ poll should not be considered a scientific one. Results reflect only the opinion of those who participate.

Loading ... Loading ...

Recent Comments