Posts Tagged ‘Mississippi Wildlife Federation’

Board chooses Young

by Published: April 5,2013

Tags: Brad Young, education, Mississippi Wildlife Federation

The board of directors for the Mississippi Wildlife Federation has selected Brad Young to lead the organization, effective April 22. Young has served as Black Bear Program leader with the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks for the past 10 years. Young, who grew up in Cleveland and currently lives in Madison, will provide […] [...]

Shropshire to retire

Mississippi Wildlife Federation executive director Dr. Cathy Shropshire is retiring effective Dec. 31. During Shropshire’s tenure, MWF instituted many innovative conservation programs now in place in Mississippi and around the country, including the Camo Coalition, Hunters Harvest, Katfishin’ Kids, Outdoorama and Magnolia Records. Shropshire was instrumental in the development of the Habitat Stewards program to […] [...]

Taking aim at hunger

Just reading the ads ought to make any hunter stop to think. “Hunters never go hungry, but children do.” That’s the moniker hung on the advertisements for the Mississippi Hunter’s Harvest program sponsored jointly by the Mississippi Wildlife Federation, the Mississippi Food Network and the J.C. Kennedy Foundation. The purpose behind the Hunter’s Harvest program […] [...]

Federation chooses Dillard

Rick Dillard, of Madison, was recently installed as president of the Mississippi Wildlife Federation. Dillard received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in fisheries management from Mississippi State University. He is founder of Magnolia White-tailed Deer Records Program, which recognizes trophy deer taken across the state, and he is an official measurer for the Boone & […] [...]

Dickerson honored for conservation work

The Mississippi Wildlife Federation has named Dena Dickerson of Clinton as the 2010 Conservationist of the Year as a tribute to her wide-ranging conservation accomplishments. She received the MWF Eagle Trophy. Dickerson is an environmental biologist with the U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC) in Vicksburg. She works with whales, manatees, tortoises and […] [...]

Conservation award recipients’ names

The Mississippi Wildlife Federation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2010 Conservation Achievement Awards. Winners are: Dena Dickerson, Clinton, Conservationist of the Year; Chad M. Dacus, Gluckstadt, Wildlife Conservationist of the Year; Jason Olive, Tupelo, Fisheries Conservationist of the Year; Dr. John Hodges, Ashland, Forest Conservationist of the Year; Justin Burger, Starkville, Youth […] [...]

Recent Posts


Should the IHL reconsider its position on firing Dan Jones as chancellor at the University of Mississippi?

View Results

The MBJ poll should not be considered a scientific one. Results reflect only the opinion of those who participate.

Loading ... Loading ...

Recent Comments