Home » Book Biz (page 2)

Book Biz

BOOK BIZ — This story of orchids and Florida captivates

» The Orchid Thief: A True Story of Passion and Obsession    
By Susan Orlean 
Published by Ballantine Books    
$14.95 softback

Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief is, quite simply, a wonder. You’ll find yourself fascinated (perhaps unexpectedly) by all the twists and turns and divergent paths Orlean takes you on. Inspired by a small newspaper article she read about the arrest of four men (three Seminoles, one white) for the theft of rare orchids from a protected Florida swamp, in Orlean’s ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ — The women’s war: two brave sisters face the Nazis

» The Nightingale
By Kristin Hannah
Published by St. Martin's Press
$27.99 hardback

There are numerous elements at play in this page-turner novel about Nazi occupied France. In the tradition of All the Light We Cannot See and Suite Francaise we become immersed in the lives of ordinary French citizens who do extraordinary things when faced with horrifying challenges. That’s not to say that The Nightingale is as well written as the other ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: Sherlock Holmes is a worthy mental model

Book Biz logo

Whether you’re a Sherlock Holmes fan from the original books and short stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle or perhaps from one of the many adaptations for the screen (both big and small), you’ve likely always been impressed by the detective’s mental acuity and uncanny abilities of observation. Holmes solves crimes other detectives give up on and points out faulty ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: Donna Tartt’s first book stands the test of time

With the publication of her third novel, The Goldfinch, which won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, Mississippian Donna Tartt’s place in literary history was assured. Her first book, The Secret History, is every bit as fascinating and has been hooking readers with its blend of chilling mystery and social commentary since its publication in 1992. Born in Greenwood and ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: Coast resident publishes cookbook all about home cooking

There’s a new cookbook on the scene and it’s an outstanding addition to any collection. It all started for cookbook author and blogger Mary Foreman with the devastation of Hurricane Katrina. At that time she was working in the corporate legal department of one of the Coast’s larger gaming companies. With the offices destroyed and the future on the Coast ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: Story set in Amsterdam is compelling, full of surprises

What an unusual book this is. After almost 400 pages it left me with unanswered questions and wanting more. It’s set in a time and place that’s unfamiliar — Amsterdam in the late 17th Century. Even in that era, this illustrious city was ahead of its time in some ways and was a booming, prosperous place. Much of that prosperity ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: This novel is not for the faint of heart

Andre Dubus’ House of Sand and Fog is a story of contrasts, of the twists and turns of fate, and of the modern pursuit of the American dream. Compulsively readable, this National Book Award nominee will keep you on edge throughout, as you try to decide, again and again, which character’s right, and which is wrong. On the one hand, ...

Read More »