Home » Book Biz (page 2)

Book Biz

BOOK BIZ: This classic story of the Himalayas endures

BookBiz-SnowLeopard-feature_rgb

In writer and naturalist Peter Matthiessen’s beloved nonfiction work The Snow Leopard, we’re transported to the far-away land of the Himalayas, as he joins biologist George Schaller on a quest to study the rare blue sheep of that region. Both Schaller and Matthiessen hope to catch a glance of the elusive and near-mythic snow leopard, as well, as it stalks ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ — An American literary legend explores life and love

BookBiz-WhatWeTalk-feature_rgb

Acclaimed short-story writer and poet Raymond Carver created a world in his writing that was much like his own hard Oregon upbringing: sparse and challenging, sparing no one heartbreak. Heavy drinkers and disillusioned people making bad choices fill Carver’s work. Credited with helping launch a resurgence in the modern American short story in the late 70s/early 80s, he died of ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ – Life is about choices, good and bad

» Hausfrau
By Jill Alexander Essbaum
Published by Random House
$26.00 hardback

What makes us choose a particular book to read? The most obvious is that we read a review or a brief synopsis or the dust jacket plot description and it sounds like a story we’d enjoy. Or, it may be the author’s track record and that we’ve read other titles by him or her and liked them. For me with ...

Read More »

BOOKBIZ: Do we contain the seeds of morality at birth?

» Just Babies: The Origins of Good and Evil    
By Paul Bloom 
Published by Broadway Books    
$15.00 softback

Where does our sense of right and wrong come from? Do we develop our morality from our specific culture or religious teachings, or are there some universal facets to it that all of us, as humans, possess? And what do we even mean by the word “morality?” How can we define it in way that everyone can relate to when ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ — This story of orchids and Florida captivates

» The Orchid Thief: A True Story of Passion and Obsession    
By Susan Orlean 
Published by Ballantine Books    
$14.95 softback

Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief is, quite simply, a wonder. You’ll find yourself fascinated (perhaps unexpectedly) by all the twists and turns and divergent paths Orlean takes you on. Inspired by a small newspaper article she read about the arrest of four men (three Seminoles, one white) for the theft of rare orchids from a protected Florida swamp, in Orlean’s ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ — The women’s war: two brave sisters face the Nazis

» The Nightingale
By Kristin Hannah
Published by St. Martin's Press
$27.99 hardback

There are numerous elements at play in this page-turner novel about Nazi occupied France. In the tradition of All the Light We Cannot See and Suite Francaise we become immersed in the lives of ordinary French citizens who do extraordinary things when faced with horrifying challenges. That’s not to say that The Nightingale is as well written as the other ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: Sherlock Holmes is a worthy mental model

Book Biz logo

Whether you’re a Sherlock Holmes fan from the original books and short stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle or perhaps from one of the many adaptations for the screen (both big and small), you’ve likely always been impressed by the detective’s mental acuity and uncanny abilities of observation. Holmes solves crimes other detectives give up on and points out faulty ...

Read More »

BOOK BIZ: Donna Tartt’s first book stands the test of time

With the publication of her third novel, The Goldfinch, which won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, Mississippian Donna Tartt’s place in literary history was assured. Her first book, The Secret History, is every bit as fascinating and has been hooking readers with its blend of chilling mystery and social commentary since its publication in 1992. Born in Greenwood and ...

Read More »