Home » NEWS » West Nile claims first life in Mississippi

West Nile claims first life in Mississippi

The Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) reports the first death of the 2009 West Nile virus (WNV) season, has identified two new WNV cases and has identified dozens of new cases of H1N1 swine flu.

The first victim of WNV was a Washington County resident. In 2008, there were three deaths related to complications from WNV infection.

Additionally, the agency reports two new human cases of WNV, bringing the state’s total number of WNV cases to six. The new cases are in Washington County. (The MSDH reports both confirmed and probable cases to the public.) Since July 2009, WNV cases have been reported in Hinds, Harrison (two), Marion and Washington (two) counties.

One case of St. Louis encephalitis has been reported in Forrest County. The Board of Animal Health has reported one case of WNV in a horse.

The MSDH reports 60 new cases of H1N1 swine flu for last week, bringing the state’s total number of cases to 320. The new cases last week were in Harrison (eight), Walthall (six), Scott (five), Panola (four), Marion (four), Clarke (three), DeSoto (three), Lauderdale (three), Rankin (three), Choctaw (two), Coahoma (two), Hinds (two), Lincoln (two), Adams, Copiah, Covington, George, Hancock, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lamar, Leflore, Neshoba, Pearl River and Smith counties.

Since MSDH began testing for H1N1 swine flu, cases have been reported in Harrison (43), Winston (27), Jackson (22), Lamar (18), Forrest (15), Hinds (14), Rankin (13), Madison (11), DeSoto (nine), Lauderdale (nine), Coahoma (eight), Panola (eight), Scott (eight), Walthall (eight), Lowndes (seven), Lincoln (six), Marion (five), Neshoba (five), Covington (four), George (four), Greene (four), Jones (four), Monroe (four), Oktibbeha (four), Warren (four), Chickasaw (three), Choctaw (three), Clarke (three), Copiah (three), Holmes (three), Lafayette (three), Webster (three), Yazoo (three), Alcorn (two), Bolivar (two), Hancock (two), Lee (two), Leflore (two), Pearl River (two), Perry (two), Smith (two), Sunflower (two), Tishomingo (two), Adams, Attala, Calhoun, Franklin, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Pike, Prentiss, Simpson and Union counties.

County numbers may have slightly changed from previous weeks after case investigation and follow-up.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Newswires

Leave a Reply