Home » Newsmakers » ERDC staffers take home awards

ERDC staffers take home awards

Lucy Priddy

Lucy Priddy

Jeb Tingle

Jeb Tingle

The Mississippi Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) recently named Lucy Priddy as Young Engineer of the Year and Jeb Tingle as Engineer of the Year. Both are employees in the Geotechnical and Structures Laboratory (GSL) of the U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC) in Vicksburg.

Priddy is a research civil engineer and has served as principal investigator on various projects in the areas of airfield damage repair modernization, airfield evaluation and rapid airfield construction. She is the author of publications in the field of pavement maintenance management, airfield damage repair technologies, unsurfaced pavement evaluation and Army airfield evaluations.

Priddy received her bachelor’s in civil engineering from the University of Mississippi in 2002, graduating summa cum laude.  She obtained her master’s in civil engineering in 2005 from Mississippi State University.

She is a member of the Transportation Research Board and was a recipient of ERDC’s Award for Outstanding Team Effort in 2008 and Award for Operational Support in 2007.  She was selected as a New Face in Engineering by both the National Engineers Week Council and ASCE in 2005 and has previously served as ASCE secretary and president of the Vicksburg Branch, secretary of the Mississippi Section and District 14 representative. Tingle is a research civil engineer and specializes in chemical and mechanical stabilization, geosynthetic applications, airfield damage repair, dust control and semi-prepared pavements. His research directly supports the Warfighter and has led to advancements that have established ERDC as the unparalleled authority in chemical soil stabilization research and an industry leader in geosynthetics research, in addition to the Department of Defense leader in airfield damage repair technology.

Tingle has both a bachelor’s and a master’s in civil engineering from Mississippi State University and is currently finishing doctoral research at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with completion set for August. He is a registered professional engineer and has recently been honored with the ERDC Program Development Achievement Award, the ERDC Award for Excellence in Operational Support, the ERDC Award for Outstanding Team Effort, the Herbert D. Vogel Engineer Award and the Army Superior Civilian Service Award.

Thirty-five employees at the ERDC were named recipients of the Secretary of Defense Global War on Terrorism Civilian Service Medal. The medal is awarded to civilians who have deployed in direct support of the U.S. military in a location designated as a combat zone for a minimum of 30 consecutive days or for 60 non-consecutive days.

Current and former ERDC-Vicksburg employees recognized are Kristi L. Acuff, Elizabeth C. Burg, Cecil C. Dorrell, John M. Kirklin, Glenn B. Myrick, Donald C. Wilson, Michael F. Winkler, Bryan L. Flournoy, Carl D. Gaston, Charles H. Hopkins, Flora J. Crawford, Julie A. Cupernall, Wayne A. Stroupe, Thomas E. Berry, Michael J. Bishop, Stacy C. Anderson, Edwin A. Theriot, Frank Spears, Gary L. Anderton, John A. Boa, Seth W. Broadfoot, Michael E. Crawford, Reed B. Freeman, Chad A. Gartrell, Carlos R. Gonzalez, Lora L. Johnson, Julie R. Kelley, Daniel A. Leavell, Larry N. Lynch, Louis W. Mason, Timothy J. McCaffrey , Thomas E. McGill, Jason R. McKenna, James R. Rowan and Henry L. Blake.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

One comment

Leave a Reply