Home » Newsmakers » Main Street names board

Main Street names board

A new member has been added to the board of directors of the Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA). Lise Foy of Canton has been elected to serve a two-year term as a managers’ representative on the statewide board. Foy is the executive director of the Canton Chamber Main Street Association. She was nominated and elected to serve on the MMSA board by fellow Main Street managers and members.

MMSA has traditionally designated two positions on the board of directors for managers’ representatives.

Foy replaces Lynn Ryals of Tunica, who has served two terms on the board, and joins Mickey Howley of Water Valley, who was elected to serve on the 2011-2012 board.

A native of Winona, Foy graduated from Mississippi State University with a B.S. in agricultural pest management in 1997 and earned a M.S. in agronomy at the University of Wyoming in 2002. Foy also has a degree in landscape design from the Anna Gresham School of Landscape Design.

She served as executive director of Main Street Greenwood Inc. from 2006-2010.

She is a co-chair of the Madison County Farm Bureau-Women’s Committee, a member of the Canton Lion’s Club, Canton Rotary Club, Professional Women’s Association and Mississippi Economic Development Council. Foy is a member of the Leadership Madison County Class of 2012 and selected as a Top Business Leader Under 50 by The Delta Business Journal 2008.

The 2011-2012 board of directors are: president Randy Burchfield, BancorpSouth; immediate past president Chuck Ueltschey, Mississippi Power Company; president-elect Barry Plunkett, B. Plunkett and Associates; treasurer Joey Hudnall, Neel-Schaffer; Leland Speed, EastGroup/Parkway Properties and interim executive director, Mississippi Development Authority; Suzanne Smith, Renasant Bank; Steve Kelly, Entergy; H.T. Holmes, Mississippi Department of Archives and History; Hibbett Neel, Neel-Schaffer; Jim West, College of Architecture, Art and Design at Mississippi State University; Billy Wiseman, member emeritus; Bill Scruggs, St. Dominic Health Services; Kenneth Ross, Port Gibson Main Street; Mickey Howley, Water Valley Main Street; and, Mark Loughman, Mississippi Power Company.

Designated representatives to the board are Ken P’Pool, Mississippi Department of Archives and History and John Poros, The Carl Small Town Center at Mississippi State University. Ex officio members include Joy Foy and Alex Thomas of the Mississippi Development Authority.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

One comment

Leave a Reply