Home » Newsmakers » PRAM presents awards

PRAM presents awards

The Public Relations Association of Mississippi (PRAM) recently honored public relations practitioners from around the state for outstanding work and service to the profession. Lea Ivey Stone, APR, received the organization’s Professional Achievement Award. A native of Picayune, Stone earned a communications degree from Mississippi State University (MSU). She is the corporate manager of community relations for Hancock Holding Company where in the past 12 months she has reorganized the community relations department, streamlined the $7 million donation and budget process and hired and trained five full time employees.

PRAM named Dr. Van Roberts as its Educator of the Year. Roberts has held many positions within the communications field, including a reporter for many Mississippi newspapers, film critic, radio news director, public relations assistant, television news reporter and photographer. In 1988 his life changed drastically when he joined faculty at Mississippi University for Women (MUW) as a broadcast writing instructor. Since having that position, he has moved up the ranks at MUW to most recently being promoted to associate professor of communication, with tenure. He is a member of the Golden Triangle Chapter of PRAM and is also a 2008 recipient of the Southern Public Relations Federation Senior Practitioner of the Year.

Foster Page, a native of Birmingham, Ala., and senior communications student at MSU, was recognized as the Outstanding Public Relations Student. Page was chosen from seven elite students from across the state to receive this recognition and a $250 scholarship.

Kristie Warino, a native of Kiln and senior journalism student at the University of Mississippi, was recognized as the Student of the Year. Warino was chosen from seven elite students nominated by professors throughout the state to receive this recognition and a $1,000 scholarship.

Robin Street, APR, of the University of Mississippi received the Best of Show Award for “Diversity Rocks,” an internal communications program. Judges’ Choice Awards were given to Street for the Les Femmes Enchanteur and to Susan Lassetter for 2011 BCoE Homecoming Tailgate.



… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply