Home » Newsmakers » MMSA chooses leaders

MMSA chooses leaders

Ellen Russell of Pontotoc and Mickey Howley of Water Valley have been elected by fellow Main Street managers and members to the Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) board of directors. Russell has been elected to serve for the first time and replaces Lise Foy of Canton. Howley has been re-elected to serve another term on the statewide board.

Russell has served as director of the Pontotoc County Main Street program since 2007. The Pontotoc County Chamber and Main Street organizations were merged into one entity in 2010. A former teacher, she has been involved with the Chamber since 1987 as a volunteer. She has been married to Don Russell for more than 40 years. The Russells are both natives of Pontotoc and graduates of the University of Mississippi. They have three children and two grandsons who also live in Pontotoc.

Howley is the director of the Water Valley Main Street Association. A New Orleans native, he has lived in north Mississippi for 13 years and the past 10 years in Water Valley. He is starting his sixth year with the Water Valley Main Street program, with the past four years as the director. Howley, who was named Main Street Director of the Year for 2012, has worked as a commercial shrimper, as a teacher in the United States and overseas in Turkey. He and his wife, Annette Trefzer, are co-owners of Bozarts Gallery in Water Valley.

The 2012-2014 board of directors includes officers Barry Plunkett (president), B. Plunkett & Associates Inc.; Joey Hudnall (president-elect), Neel-Schaffer; Mark Loughman (treasurer), Mississippi Power; and, Randy Burchfield (immediate past president), BancorpSouth.

Board members are: Allison Beasley, Southern Mississippi Planning and Development District; Steve Kelly, Entergy; Hibbett Neel, Neel-Schaffer; Bill Scruggs, St. Dominic Health Services; Mayor Robert Smith, City of Columbus; Suzanne Smith, Renasant Bank; Sheila Varnado, R3SM Inc.; Wyatt Waters, Wyatt Waters Gallery; and, Beth Williams, The Alluvian Hotel & Spa.

Permanent members are: H.T. Holmes, Mississippi Department of Archives and History; Leland Speed, EastGroup/Parkway Properties; and, Jim West, College of Architecture, Art and Design, Mississippi State University.

Designated representatives are: Ken P’Pool, Mississippi Department of Archives and History; and, John Poros, The Carl Small Town Center, Mississippi State University.

Ex officio members of the Mississippi Development Authority are: Brent Christensen, executive director; Joy Foy, director of asset development; and, Alex Thomas, Music Trails program manager.





… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply