Home » Newsmakers » MFBF elections, honors

MFBF elections, honors

Randy Knight, a dairy farmer from Pelahatchie, was recently re-elected to his second term as president of the Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation.

Donald Gant from Merigold was re-elected as vice president-North Mississippi. Ted Kendall from Bolton was re-elected as vice president-Central Mississippi. And, Reggie Magee from Mt. Olive was re-elected as vice president-South Mississippi.

Newly elected or re-elected directors on the MFBF Board include Lowell Hinton, Corinth; Chris Lively, Clarksdale; Kelcey Shields, Mantachie; Kenny King, Ackerman; Jimmy Whitaker, Satartia; Oliver Limerick, Shuqualak; Vander Walley, Waynesboro; David Barton, Raymond; Mike McCormick, Union Church; Larry Jefcoat, Soso; and, Louis Breaux IV, Kiln. Jon Koehler Bibb of Tunica will sit on the board due to his election as Young Farmer & Rancher Committee chairman.

Scott Cannada was selected as Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Achievement Award winner and will travel to Nashville, Tenn., to represent Mississippi in the National Young Farmer Achievement Award competition.

William and Julie White of Starkville were selected as the Young Farmers and Ranchers Excellence in Agriculture award winners. They will also head to Nashville for national competition.

Cory Williamson of Water Valley won the Young Farmer Discussion Meet, an event that challenges contestants’ discussion skills and their ability to persuade others to see their side of an issue. He will also compete in the national competition in Nashville in January.

Farm Bureau’s highest award, the MFBF Distinguished Service Award, was presented to Louis Breaux of Kiln. Breaux has worked closely with Farm Bureau for more than half a century in various county and state positions. He is currently an honorary vice president on the board.

There were two recipients of the Friend of Agriculture Award. Sen. Billy Hudson of Hattiesburg and Rep. Preston Sullivan of Okalona received the award for their support of agriculture and Farm Bureau in the Mississippi Legislature.

The Excellence in Leadership Award went to Jan Holley of Itawamba County for her many years of dedicated service to agriculture in Mississippi.

Paul Ott of Summit was given the Ag Ambassador Award for his work in promoting agriculture and Mississippi.

In other meeting activities, Molly Martin of Simpson County won the Farm Bureau Ambassador competition. Martin will be a spokesperson for Farm Bureau and agriculture during 2013.



… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply