Home » NEWS » Powell wins House seat; nine to vie for Senate post

Powell wins House seat; nine to vie for Senate post

BRANDON and HINDS COUNTY —Brent Powell has been elected to the Mississippi Legislature during a special House election.

The Clarion-Ledger reports the Brandon Republican garnered more than 51 percent of the vote. He avoids a Jan. 29 runoff election.

Powell faced Republicans Bradley Lum and Scot Allen, and independent Benny L. Hubbard. They were vying for the seat left by former Rep. Kevin McGee, who resigned over ethics violations in November.

House District 59 encompasses the Ross Barnett Reservoir area and parts of Brandon and Flowood.

In a separate item, nine candidates are running for a state Senate seat in part of Hinds County.

They’re competing to succeed Democrat Alice Harden, who died in December.

The special election is Feb. 5, with a runoff Feb. 26.

The candidates are Cindy Ayers-Elliot, Tamarra Grace Butler, Marshand Crisler, Sollie B. Norwood, Antonio Porter, James “Jimmy” Stewart, Kathy L. Sykes, Tommy L. Wallace II and Cassandra Welchlin.

Candidates in special elections run without party labels.

Harden was a former educator. In 1987, she became the first black woman elected to the Mississippi Senate. She served until her death at age 64.



… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *