Home » NEWS » Economic Development » Mississippi Main Street announces 2013 award winners

Mississippi Main Street announces 2013 award winners

main streetJACKSON, Mississippi —  The Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) celebrated achievements of Mississippi Main Street Communities at the 24th Annual Awards Luncheon in downtown Jackson.

The presentation of awards was made by MMSA Executive Director Bob Wilson and 2013-2014 Board President Joey Hudnall.

“This year’s award winners reflect the commitment of many individuals and groups who champion what Main Street is all about – developing the heart of our communities, our historic downtowns, and enhancing quality of life for everyone,” Wilson said.

Since 1993, MMSA, a program of the Mississippi Development Authority, has generated nearly $4.5 billion in private and public investment (including more than $1 million in public investment). In 2012, Mississippi Main Street communities generated 228 net new businesses, 53 business expansions, 1,248 net new jobs, 111 façade rehabilitations and 160 upper floor housing developments. More than 57,005 volunteer hours were recorded.

MMSA has 51 designated Main Street Communities throughout the state as well as six Downtown Networks and several Association Members.

Established by the National Trust for Historic Preservation in 1980, the National Main Street Center helps communities of all sizes revitalize their older and historic commercial districts. More than 1,800 Main Street programs participate in 50 other states as well as the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia.

Award listing is below:

  Design Best Adaptive Re-use Project Shane Crausby Commercial Real Estate WINNER Pontotoc Shane Crausby
  Design Best Façade Rehabilitation Over $10,000 Kosciusko Strand Theatre Façade Restoration WINNER Kosciusko Mayor Jimmy Cockroft and Ingrid Gonzalez-Featherston
  Design Best Façade Rehabilitation Under $10,000 Onje’s Bakery WINNER Greenwood Marion Howard or Brantley Snipes
  Design Best Historic Rehabilitation Project Woodville Lofts and Studios WINNER Woodville James Derbes and Jan Katz
  Design Best New Signage studio 5 fifty arts center WINNER Laurel Brad Kent and Robby Scruggs
  Design Best Public Improvement Project Breezeway Project (TIE) WINNER Carthage Aaron Akers and Russell Baty
  Design Best Public Improvement Project We Are Laurel (TIE) WINNER Laurel Rex Gilbert and James Hill
  Design Best Public/Private Improvement Project Carrollton/Johnson District Revitalization WINNER Greenwood Marion Howard or Brantley Snipes
  Econ R Best Public-Private Partnership Project Earth’s Bounty WINNER Meridian Maureen Lofton
  Econ R Best Business Retention/Recruitment
Program for Downtown
Main Street Clinton’s New Business Recruitment Packet WINNER Clinton Chris Graham and Nolan Aikens
  Econ R Best New Development Project Rue Vieux LLC WINNER Biloxi Laura Bolton and Rue Vieux members
  Econ R Main Street Merchant of the Year Yvonne Taylor WINNER Batesville Yvonne Taylor
  Organization Best Creative Fundraising Project Club Whispers Panel Auction WINNER Greenwood Brantley Snipes
  Promotion Best Image or Branding Promotion Hooked on Pontotoc WINNER Pontotoc Mayor Jeff Stafford
  Promotion Best Culinary Arts Event Don’t Be Cruel Bar-B-Q Duel WINNER Tupelo Bev Crossen
  Promotion Best Newsletter over 5,000 Canton Connections Weekly Newsletter WINNER Canton Jordan Hillman
  Promotion Best Downtown Directory Tunica Main Street and Highway 61 Corridor Brochure WINNER Tunica Lynn Ryals
  Promotion Best Retail Promotion Sip N’ Cider WINNER Canton Logan Horne
  Promotion Best Special Event Peter Anderson Arts and Crafts Festival (TIE) WINNER Ocean Springs Cynthia Dobbs Sutton and Margaret Miller
  Promotion Best Special Event Bricks and Spokes (TIE) WINNER Vicksburg Kim Hopkins
  Special Special Service Award (Private Sector) Aaron Akers WINNER Carthage Aaron Akers
  Special Special Service Award (Public Official) Mayor Steve Rosenthal (TIE) WINNER Indianola Mayor Steve Rosenthal
  Special Special Service Award (Public Official) Mayor Jimmy Wallace (TIE) WINNER Carthage Mayor Jimmy Wallace
  Special Spirit of Main Street Making a Difference on Main Street Program WINNER Clinton David Winborne and George Ewing
  Special Charles O. Beasley Award Margaret Miller WINNER Ocean Springs Margaret Miller



… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Ross Reily

Ross Reily is editor of the Mississippi Business Journal. He is a husband to an amazing wife, dad to 3 crazy kids and 2 dogs. He is also a fan of the Delta State Fighting Okra and the Boston Red Sox.

Leave a Reply