Home » NEWS » Three special elections for House seats set for today

Three special elections for House seats set for today

elections-usa-2008AROUND MISSISSIPPI — Special elections are scheduled today to select people to serve the remaining terms in three Mississippi House districts.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. today and close at 7 p.m. Only those living in the legislative districts can vote.

The elections are being held in House District 110 located entirely in Jackson County; District 55, which includes most of Vicksburg; and District 5 which covers most of Marshall and a portion of Benton counties.

Runoffs, if necessary, are Nov. 26. The winners will serve out the remaining of the current term until January of 2016.

Candidates in legislative special elections do not declare party affiliation. Instead of party primaries, all candidates, regardless of party allegiance, run against each other.

In District 110, longtime lawmaker Billy Broomfield resigned after being elected mayor of Moss Point in June. Broomfield had served in the House since 1991.

The five candidates running to succeed him include former Moss Point Mayor Aniece Liddell, who served one term as Moss Point mayor from 2009 until she was defeated by Broomfield in the Democratic primary earlier this year.

Others on the ballot are Jeramey Anderson, a senior at Tulane University studying Homeland Security and public relations; Tyres Autrey, a full-time caregiver; Mitch Ellerby, a former two-term state representative who is a driver for Hotard Coaches; and Anne’A McMillian, a long-term substitute teacher in the Moss Point School District.

In District 55, five candidates will vie to succeed Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs Jr. in the Mississippi House of Representatives. Flaggs retired from his seat June 30 and was sworn in as mayor the following day. Flaggs had served in the House since 1988.

The candidates in Tuesday’s election are Marie Thompson, who was city policy director under former Mayor Paul Winfield; Oscar Denton, who worked 39 years for AT&T; Andrew W. Harrell, a retired U.S. Army Corps of Engineers mathematician, Joseph E. Williams, who operates Rocket Taxicab in Vicksburg; and Christopher Green, an attorney.

In District 5, incumbent Kelvin Buck, who had served since 2004 in the House, resigned after being elected mayor in Holly Springs.

The candidates are Daylon Cannon, a Byhalia alderman and business owner; Andre R. De’Berry, the former mayor of Holly Springs who lost to Buck; Arthur “Clyde” Ellzey, who retired after 25 years with the railroad; and other candidates are John Gary Faulkner, Lee Edward Gill, Jacqueline Simon and Robert Earl Young.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Megan Wright

Leave a Reply