Home » NEWS » More than 19,000 absentee ballot requests made for runoff elections

More than 19,000 absentee ballot requests made for runoff elections

Delbert Hosemann

Delbert Hosemann

ACROSS MISSISSIPPI — According to the Statewide Election Management System, 19,144 absentee ballots had been requested as of 9 a.m. yesterday for runoff primary elections being conducted today.

This compares to 18,036 total absentee ballots requested in the June 3 Democratic Party and Republican Party primary elections.

“Mississippians across the state realize the importance of every single vote in this party primary runoff election,” said Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann.

Absentee ballots returned by mail had to be received by circuit clerks no later than yesterday by 5 p.m.

Currently, the 2014 primary runoff election absentee ballot totals statewide are as follows:

Absentee Ballot Requests as of 9 a.m. Monday, June 23
Adams County 266
Alcorn County 227
Amite County 131
Attala County 153
Benton County 106
Bolivar County 127
Calhoun County 107
Carroll County 95
Chickasaw County 109
Choctaw County 83
Claiborne County 20
Clarke County 179
Clay County 162
Coahoma County 93
Copiah County 135
Covington County 196
DeSoto County 768
Forrest County 529
Franklin County 151
George County 134
Greene County 107
Grenada County 235
Hancock County 235
Harrison County 901
Hinds County 861
Holmes County 143
Humphreys County 80
Issaquena County 4
Itawamba County 145
Jackson County 520
Jasper County 211
Jefferson County 17
Jeff Davis County 94
Jones County 213
Kemper County 73
Lafayette County 588
Lamar County 449
Lauderdale County 1031
Lawrence County
Leake County 86
Lee County 584
Leflore County 224
Lincoln County 397
Lowndes County 288
Madison County 972
Marion County 303
Marshall County 128
Monroe County 238
Montgomery County 168
Neshoba County 168
Newton County 116
Noxubee County 87
Oktibbeha County 495
Panola County 168
Pearl River County 462
Perry County 89
Pike County 325
Pontotoc County 196
Prentiss County 111
Quitman County 95
Rankin County 1235
Scott County 86
Sharkey County
Simpson County 151
Smith County 145
Stone County 107
Sunflower County
Tallahatchie County 55
Tate County 129
Tippah County 118
Tishomingo County 106
Tunica County 25
Union County 216
Walthall County 133
Warren County 289
Washington County 210
Wayne County 218
Webster County 106
Wilkinson County 27
Winston County 208
Yalobusha County 82
Yazoo County 120
TOTAL 19,144



… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Wally Northway

Leave a Reply