Home » NEWS » Former USM coach Jeff Bower added to playoff selection committee

Former USM coach Jeff Bower added to playoff selection committee

Former USM head football coach Jeff Bower

Former USM head football coach Jeff Bower

IRVING, Texas — Former Southern Miss head football coach Jeff Bower is among the four new additions to the College Football Playoff selection committee.

Oregon athletic director Rob Mullens and former Michigan coach Lloyd Carr are also among that group.

College Football Playoff Executive Director Bill Hancock announced Thursday that Mullens, Carr, Bower and former Central Michigan coach and athletic director Herb Deromedi will be added to the 12-member committee starting next season. They will serve three-year terms.

The new members will replace Southern California athletic director Pat Haden, former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne, former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese and former Air Force Academy superintendent Mike Gould.

Last week, Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt was chosen as the new chairman of the selection committee, replacing Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long.

Bower was 119-82-1 as the school’s head coach and had been in the same job longer than all but three coaches in the Football Bowl Subdivision. Only Penn State’s Joe Paterno, Bobby Bowden of Florida State and Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer have longer tenures with their schools at that time. His only losing seasons came in 1991 and ’93.

Southern Miss’ stretch of winning seasons was second only to Florida State (31), Michigan (23), Florida (20) and Virginia Tech (15) at that time.

Bower built one of the nation’s most powerful mid-majors, hitting the road to play tough competition from Bowl Championship Series conference teams and often coming home a winner. Southern Miss scored upsets over several FBS teams, including Southeastern Conference powers LSU, Georgia, Alabama and Auburn.

His most successful year of upsets came in 2000 when the Golden Eagles beat Alabama, Oklahoma State and TCU. Bower guided the Golden Eagles to three outright Conference USA championships and one shared league title. He was named the conference’s coach of the decade in 2004 and was coach of the year in 1997, 1999 and 2003.

Carr coached Michigan from 1996-2007, leading the Wolverines to their last national title in 1997.

Deromedi spent 38 years at Central Michigan and retired in 1993 as the winningest coach in Mid-American Conference history, with a 110-55-10 record. He was athletic director at Central Michigan from 1994-2006.

Mullens has been athletic director at Oregon since 2010 and is a graduate of West Virginia.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Associated Press

Leave a Reply